Mrs. Deringer - Life Cycles

Will our baby look exactly like you or me??? He/she will look similar to both of us.
Click Here to find out why Scientists use Fruit Flies (Drosophila Melanogaster)???
Metamorphosis of a Butterfly

Metamorphosis is a change in the form and often habits of an animal during normal development after the embryonic stage.

Butterflies, fruit flies, and frogs all go through Metamorphosis.

The metamorphosis of a butterfly and a fruit fly is called complete metamorphosis. The metamorphosis of a frog though is called incomplete because there is no cocoon or pupa stage.


Metamorphosis of a Frog

The four stages of development for the fruit fly are Egg, Larva, Pupa, and Adult.

The first stage is the egg. The fruit fly remains in the egg for about 1 day. During the 2nd stage, the larva spends most of its time eating. You can see it tunneling through the food. This stage lasts between 5 -7 days.

The third stage is the pupa stage. This is when the larva is in a cocoon. This stage lasts for about 8 days. During this stage the larva structures are replaced by adult structures.

The final stage is the adult stage. It takes about 2 weeks for the whole life cycle.

The differences between a male and female fruit fly are:

The females are larger have more stripes on their abdomen, have a pointy abdomen and they do not have sex combs.

The males are smaller, have less stripes on their abdomen, their abdomen is much darker and they have sex combs on their legs.


Click on the screen to watch my powerpoint movie on Drosophila. It does take several minutes to load!!!

Now test your knowledge by taking the quiz. Click Here


Go Back Home to Life Links